Quick Links

Fortnite players logged into the popular battle royale game today to discover that a new countdown clock has appeared over the map, counting down to December 4th. This isn't out of the ordinary for Epic Games, as the mega-publisher/developer has put countdown clocks in Fortnite before, typically signaling the approach of a massive event. This time around, however, Epic Games has confirmed that the event on December 4th will mark the end of Fortnite Chapter 2, and Chapter 3 will start shortly after.

GAMERANT VIDEO OF THE DAY

What is the Fortnite Chapter 2 Finale Event?

In a blog post on the official Fortnite site, players will need to "grab [their] weapons and fight the ultimate destroyer of all reality," which is The Cube Queen. The event is called "The End," and Epic says it's a one-time event that will basically never happen again, just like the many previous events over the years in Fortnite. Players can create their own parties of up to 16 people and team up to take on the Sideways Corruption one last time in the climactic finale. Players should hop into Fortnite about 30 minutes before the event to get situated in the playlist.

RELATED: Xbox Series S Holiday Bundle Comes With Fortnite and Rocket League Freebies

What Time is the Fortnite Chapter 2 Finale Event?

The Fortnite Chapter 2 Finale will take place on December 4th, 2021, at 4 PM ET / 1 PM PT / 2 PM MT / 3 PM CT. Epic Games does not mention any other times for players, so this is the only chance that fans will get to participate in the Chapter-ending event before Chapter 3 starts. As for when Fortnite Chapter 3 starts, it all depends on Epic Games. It could potentially begin the following day, on December 5th, or the company could take a few days to put out the new content, as they did a few years ago with the Black Hole in Fortnite.

How Fortnite Players Should Prepare for "The End"

  • Complete any leftover quests, such as the Cube Queen's
  • Collect the Toona Fish bottles
  • Trade-in any Battle Stars to unlock Battle Pass items
  • Use all of the Gold Bars since they don't carry over to the next chapter of Fortnite

Fortnite is currently available on PC, PS4, PS5, Switch, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X/S.

MORE: Fortnite: Hidden Leaf Village Adventure - Naruto's Scrolls Locations

The Amazon ‘Lord Of The Rings’ Series Is Missing What Made The Movies Great

It seems unlikely that the Amazon series will be able to capture that same magic that the films had, and it certainly feels like more of a cash grab.

Read Next
About The Author